Masterton Trust Lands Trust deputy chair Christine Brewster and chair Leanne Southey. Their appointment marks the first time in Trust history that women have held both major roles on the MTLT board of trustees

MTLT welcomes new trustees

Oct 2019

Masterton Trust Lands Trust (MTLT) has confirmed the election of two new trustees to its board and the appointment of women to both chair and deputy chair roles.

The result of the recent local body elections saw the re-election of trustees John Bunny and Sandy Ryan and the election of new trustees, Tom Hullena and Gary Caffell.

MTLT Chairperson Leanne Southey said the Trust welcomed the local knowledge and experience the new trustees would bring to the board.

“The election has resulted in a mix of experienced and new trustees on the MTLT board. We’re looking forward to the contribution that Tom and Gary can make to the work the Trust does in managing our community-owned property portfolio and providing grants to support a range of education, cultural, arts 
and community initiatives,” Miss Southey said.

“Tom’s extensive background in education will be a valuable addition to our education committee and the ongoing development of our grants programme in this area. Gary’s experience as a Masterton District Councillor will assist in continuing to foster the collaborative approach we take to property and community development initiatives with the council and other key stakeholder groups.”

MTLT’s board appointments saw the election of Leanne Southey as chair and Christine Brewster as deputy chair. This is the first time in Trust history that women have held both roles of chair and deputy chair.

Other key appointments include John Bunny as chair of the audit, risk and property committee, Christine Brewster as chair of the education committee, and Sandy Ryan as chair of the community property and grants committee.

“With the confirmed board of trustees, MTLT is well placed to effectively manage our property portfolio and build on our grants programme for the benefit  of the Masterton community, in line with our new six-year strategic plan adopted earlier this year,” Miss Southey said.

MTLT full board of trustees is: Leanne Southey (chair), Christine Brewster (deputy chair), John Bunny, Frazer Mailman, Bex Johnson, Sandy Ryan, Tom Hullena, Gary Caffell.